tessdenton

Vacation… Local or Abroad, It’s a Life-Changer and Quality of Life Enhancer

In Abundance, Career, Coaching, Goals, Hope, Mentoring, Prosperity, Success, Uncategorized, Vision, Vision Boards on 2014/07/24 at 5:13 pm
Are You Taking Enough Vacation? (Thanks trendhunter.com)

Are You Taking Enough Vacation? (Thanks trendhunter.com)

I’m having a fantastic  summer vacation this year. I don’t know how it came to be, but I’m loving it. I have actually marked days off on the calendar to PLAY!

What’s made the difference? I can think of a few things that may be the reason:

  • The weather : Something about the Polar Vortex has created a perfect mix of sun, breeze, open-air sleeping weather and a resort-like climate.
  • I am sorting efforts into four distinct categories: My non-profit work, my publishing and production work, taking care of my aging parents, and home (I took a week off of work and truly enjoyed a staycation).  I decided to re-route the merry-go-round. I have been go-go-going on this ride for years. I am also more mindful of my pace. I am sleeping more, “doing” less and transitioning to a less impactful physical routine (outside of my weekly travel between Chicago and Central Illinois).  I’ve been pounding the pavement from a business perspective and a workout perspective for a loooooong time. I’m ready to mix things up a bit here. I’m finding myself drawn to a gentler workout routine.
  • Finally: I chose, without apology, to take a little holiday from the disciplines I’ve  developed over the past few years (the goal of blogging twice a week, hosting a radio show every other week, planning my social media marketing plan 30 days out). Am a getting a bit out of practice? Yes. Is this a chance to step back and figure out the most productive use of my time? Yes!

I laugh as I re-read what I’ve written. I call this slowing down. Some people would describe this as a crazy pace. Whether I am slowing the place or simply issuing a re-mix is not as important as feeling re-charged and refreshed.

My challenge to you this week is to take a look at your pace and the ways you choose to spend your 24 hours a day. Might you be in need of some Holiday time? Need a little convincing? Here’s a link to trendhunter.com. They’ve got a slide show that shows the health and wealth benefits of taking time off.

If you’d like to share your findings, I welcome your comments!!!

As always, make it a great week…

~Tess

Copyright 2014

Destiny Rising, LLC

 

 

Leave a Reply

