tessdenton

Lifting Aching Hearts… Finding The Helpers

In Abundance, Career Coaching, Destiny, Goals, Hope, Mentoring, Prosperity, Success, Transformation, Vision, Vision Boards on 2012/12/17 at 11:25 pm
Aching Heart

Aching Heart

Renata Bower, whose book “Frieda B. Herself” , is a new children’s classic, posted a quote by Fred Rogers on her Facebook Page. Renata only posts really impactful photos, quotes and stories. I find the quote to be gentle, hopeful and filled with promise at a time when we are saddened by the loss of 26 at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

I  read that this quote has “gone viral”. I’ve only seen it one time and I now share it with you. Fred Rogers’ quote is an apt description of how Hope reasserts itself into our lives following a disaster. This quote is directly from Fred Rogers Company:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.

In the intro to  “The Mister Rogers Parenting Book”, he wrote, “.. if we can bring our children understanding, comfort, and hopefulness when they need this kind of support, then they are more likely to grow into adults who can find these resources within themselves later on.”

May you find ways to be a helper as you find and bring  HOPEfulness to your life and the lives of others.

As always, I welcome your comments and feedback.

I wish you peace today…

~Tess

Copyright 2012

Destiny Rising, LLC

  1. I have always loved Mr. Roger’s approach to life. His was the program my kids watched just before their naps. He had such a calming effect. He talked softly, spoke honestly, and kids just knew his words came straight from his heart. It was something you could just feel. Hopefully the “helpers” in the Sandy Hook Community will be able to soothe the hearts and minds of the families and friends of those who lost their lives. Let’s focus on the helpers…
    and not on the lost soul that committed this horrible crime. 😦

  2. Mr. Rogers is my all time favorite person. The World According to Mister Rogers is a wonderful read. (As is the potty training one…really!) Thanks Tess for lovely post. It is so calming.

  3. […] are so pleased to share this wonderful shout-out to Frieda B! Please enjoy this post from the Your Destiny Rising blog .S. Beautiful […]

Leave a Reply

