tessdenton

BHAG vs. Quest

In Uncategorized on 2012/06/24 at 9:33 pm

“Prepare For A Quest”

For an Audio Version of this post, click here.

I first heard about the BHAG approximately 5 years ago. BHAG is not an attractive word, but the concept is interesting. BHAG is an acronym for a Big Hairy Audacious Goal. The BHAG’s description makes it sound as if it is a monster that must be vanquished and that if it is not vanquished, all is lost.

Suffice it to say, that  image is not at all inspiring to me. Such thoughts make me nervous, fearful and I feel ill-equipped for the challenge.  I prefer to look at what some would call a BHAG and rename it My Ultimate Quest.  A quest, to me, is more majestic than a BHAG. Achieving a BHAG has a sort of combative  swagger to it. A quest is more romantic. Perhaps takes a little more time to accomplish, but the adventure includes magic, lessons about what’s important in life and a regal feast at its conclusion.

In looking at childhood tales, perhaps a BHAG is the Hare and the Quest is the Tortoise.

How does this apply to you and to me and to what we want in life and our Vision?  A BHAG leaves me short of breath and a quest is inspiring. If you’ve read my book, Building A Powerful Vision Board (A Path to Achieving your Goals and What You Want in Life), you know that the journey to achieving your vision and goals is akin to a quest. You have to go inside and determine your priorities and reawaken your creativity before you can achieve your external results.

My Blog’s challenge for you this week: Find quiet time to go “inside”.   It may be hard to do with life’s demands calling upon you at all hours. However, know that getting quiet and listening to what both head and heart are saying is a great way to ignite the spark that will inspire your quest. A technique you might use to start listening is to turn off all distractions when you drive for an entire week:  No radio, no phone, no text, no I-Tunes. I put this to the test this week myself. I forgot my cell phone while on a business trip and decided to turn off the radio while on a four-hour drive.  The experience was reminiscent of days earlier in my career when I had to travel great distances and the cell phone and pager were still being perfected at Bell Labs and Motorola.

At the week’s end, jot down a few notes about the conflicting priorities you uncover, and consider what lies beneath the surface. You  might just have the makings of a quest in those notes. The conversation with yourself isn’t over. It is only beginning.  If this experience is a bit unsettling, do not worry.  Remember that “the unexamined life is not worth living”. Are you up for the adventure?

As always, I welcome your comments and wish you a great week 🙂

~ Tess

Copyright 2012

Destiny Rising, LLC

Leave a Reply

