tessdenton

What Path Are You Taking?

In Uncategorized on 2011/05/16 at 10:09 pm

"Two Roads Diverged"

In school, I was not a keen fan of poetry. Its depth may have been lost on me when I was younger. I did enjoy the beat poetry in “So I Married an Axe Murderer and Mike Meyers’ piece “Woman”.

Since that time, poetry has become a part of my regular reading fare.

Today I saw Tom Shadyac’s documentary film “I AM” for the second time. First of all, I really love the film. Secondly, I am humbled by the brilliance of those interviewed and their awareness of what change in the world looks like (http://www.iamthedoc.com/i-am-tom-shadyac/).

Within the film, one of those interviewed referenced Robert Frost’s classic poem “The Road Not Taken” (1915). Every one of us is on a journey, and every day we are presented with choices that will affect our future in some way. Our choices are not necessarily life altering on the surface. But if you dig a little deeper and look back on your life, you’ll notice your choices, weave themselves into the fabric that is your life.  As an example: When I was a senior in college, I chose to live with Carla (a good friend to this day), whose Mom gave me sage advice one weekend while visiting us at U of I. I’ve shared her advice with people who’ve heeded its wisdom and changed their outlook. If I hadn’t lived with Carla, I wouldn’t have met her mom, who wouldn’t have shared her wisdom, which I wouldn’t have quoted to someone last year, who made a specific decision based on the advice and so on.

And so, I offer an opportunity for you to read Robert Frost’s poem today – and to reflect on choices that have placed you on your path.

The Road Not Taken (Robert Frost, 1915)

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Have a great week. As always, I welcome your comments.
~ Tess

Destiny Rising, LLC

Copyright 2011

Leave a Reply

