tessdenton

Back to Basics

In Uncategorized on 2011/03/21 at 3:32 pm

Break Down The Equation

This week, I feel like a high school freshman. Everything about building a business feels raw and new this week. Perhaps I feel this way because in this moment, I am living through a multitude of firsts: First year doing taxes for my new company. First time publishing a book. First time hosting a radio show. First time adding video to my weekly blog postings. 

I don’t know about you, but when I am new at so many things at one time, my confidence runs off somewhere. Then again, who ISN’T somewhat fearful the first time they attempt new things?  Don’t most people come up breathless at times like these?

Here’s my pep talk to myself and to anyone else who cares to listen: What’s important to remember when faced with a pile of firsts is to look around at all of the skills I’ve mastered.When I list my skills and accomplishments, my list of firsts looks downright elementary.  I can easily stand in front of a crowd of 10,000 and speak. I can put together a fundraising event that will gross $500,000. I can host a scholarship competition. I can run a restaurant. I can develop a curriculum for corporations and universities. I can plan a cross-country move. I can make presentations to corporate CEO’s. I can and do coach and encourage people to success.

With the fresh perspective in mind, I remind myself that I need to simply get back to basics and tackle the firsts one at a time. Just as I tell others not to expect perfection the first time out, I need to be gentle with myself while learning new skills . Of the firsts I’m facing, none is daunting all by itself. It’s the snowball effect that gets overwhelming. When we get back to basics, things become manageable and we accomplish more.

Today, I’ll simply end with a quote from our old friend Bill Shakespeare: “Our doubts are traitors,  And make us lose the good we oft might win By fearing to attempt.”

This week, I invite you to identify what firsts you may be facing and summon the courage to accomplish them, one step at a time.

As always, I welcome your comments and feedback. Make it a great week

~ Tess

 

  1. What a wonderfully refreshing approach to starting something new! Thank you, Tess!

    • Thank you for your comment. Keeping a positive attitude is critical to long term optimism 🙂

Leave a Reply

