tessdenton

A Vision for Haiti

In Uncategorized on 2010/01/27 at 8:36 am

These have been weeks of overwhelming tragedy and loss, in the nearby country of Haiti. Just a few days ago, I was pondering what I can do to shift my energy in the wake of the devastation and loss that the country’s people have suffered. I responded early with contributions to international aid organizations that I trust, but I was still left with a void.

A colleague of mine once told me that what she preferred about getting her news from  a newspaper rather than the television and the internet is you generally read a story once and then engage in processing the information. In today’s media focused world, images, photos and stories are repeatedly replayed, their graphic images always on the screen. It leaves many of us feeling helpless and emotionally wrought.

I have decided to take the information that I have seen, give it its due process, and create a vision board of a rebuilt Haiti. I’m not intending to erase the pictures of the sad reality of Haiti. I simply cannot continue to look at what has happened in the recent past. I need to get a picture of a possible future and spend my energy there. Over the next few days, I will be creating a vision of a new Haiti. I will share my vision and post it on my website. If you’d like to join me in putting energy toward a vision board that is related to this theme, send me an e-mail at tess@destinyrising.com. Let’s see how we can shift the ways in which we process what happens in our world.

copyright 2010 Destiny Rising

Leave a Reply

